WGSS home

WGSS Awards

The Women & Gender Studies Section awards are given annually to honor distinguished academic librarians who have made outstanding contributions to women & gender studies through accomplishments and service to the profession. The awards recognize those who have made long-standing contributions to the field during a career (the Career Achievement award) and those who have made significant one-time contributions (the Significant Achievement award).

Past Award Winners


The award winners will receive a plaque. There is, unfortunately, no cash award at this time. The Women & Gender Studies Section is currently seeking new sponsors for these awards.  The awards are presented at the ALA Annual Conference.

Eligibility & Criteria:

The ACRL Women & Gender Studies Section Award for Career Achievement in Women's Studies Librarianship is designed to honor individual career achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship. Nominees should have demonstrated significant achievements and contributions in one or more of the following areas:

  • Service within the organized profession through ACRL/WGSS and/or related organizations;
  • Academic/research library or archival service in the area of women & gender studies;
  • Research and publication in areas of academic/research library or archival services in women & gender studies;
  • Planning and implementation of academic/research library or archival programs in women & gender studies disciplines of such exemplary quality that they could serve as a model for others.

Nomination form for WGSS Award in Career Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship

The ACRL Women & Gender Studies Section Award for Significant Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship has historically recognized one-time achievement, by an individual or a group, during the particular year of the award. Achievement may be in any area of academic Women & Gender Studies Librarianship, including, but not limited to:

  • Publication of a monograph, journal article, website or media product;
  • Talk or other presentation at a nationally recognized conference;
  • Innovations in Women & Gender Studies librarianship, including but not limited to instruction;
  • Development of an exemplary program, collection, digitization project, or access tool to serve Women & Gender Studies students and/or faculty;
  • Significant creative & innovative contribution to the work of the ACRL Women & Gender Studies Section.

Nomination form for WGSS Award for Significant Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship

Submission procedure:

Submissions must be made on the appropriate nomination form (available from the links above). In addition, please submit a nominating letter addressing specific area(s) or criteria and citing concrete examples. The nominations packet must include 3 letters of support. Send your nominations packet to the attention of:

Diane Fulkerson

Submissions may initially be sent electronically via e-mail.



If you have questions or require assistance in completing a nomination packet, please contact Megan Griffin, ACRL Awards Program Coordinator at mgriffin@ala.org.

Submission Deadline: December 5, 2015

Date of Establishment: 1999

Back to the WGSS Home Page.
Send comments about the WGSS website to: Carrie Dunham-LaGree.
URL: http://libr.org/wgss/awards/index.html
Last updated: October 26, 2015
Copyright Statement